Skip to main content

Our Students

Medical Student (MS) I

MS I

Student profiles coming soon....

MS II

MS II

Alizadeh

Alizadeh, Madeline
madeline.alizadeh@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Gut and reproductive microbiome

Brandon

Brandon, Ken
ken.brandon@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Oakwood University, University of Alabama-Huntsville
Research Interests: Macrophages, proteolytic enzymes, drug delivery

Eason

Eason, Matthew
matthew.eason@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Cancer biology and metastasis

Hofstaedter

Hofstaedter, Casey
casey.hofstaedter@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Lehigh University
Research Interests: My interests are in immunology, microbiology, and host-microbe interactions.

 Iyer

Iyer, Aishwarya
Aishwarya.iyer@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Research interests: Biochemical and biophysical approaches to investigate structure-function relationships of vital biomolecules in disease pathology.

Johnson-DaKuawn

Johnson, Da’Kuawn
da’kuawn.johnson@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater:  University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Research Interests: Metabolic disorders such as diabetes and the role that the microbiome could be playing within the disease.

Kruk

Kruk, Katie
katie.kruk@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Grand Valley State University
Research interests: Neural networks (including how their anatomy influences their function, how individual neurons contribute to a whole network, and how particular neural networks act as a whole), applying/optimizing imaging techniques to help detect abnormalities.

Moyer

Moyer, Mitchell
Mitchell.moyer@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Pittsburgh
Research interests: Underlying biological mechanisms behind psychiatric and neurodegenerative disease, compensatory response of the dopamine system to cell death during pre-symptomatic development of Parkinson's disease.

Chimdiya Onwukwe

Onwukwe, Chimdiya
Chimdiya.onwukwe@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Research interests: Nicotine Addiction, Traumatic Brain/Spinal Cord Injury

 Schumacher

Schumacher, Justin
justin.schumacher@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Rochester
Research interests: Biomedical engineering and medical imaging, particularly with medical devices, spectral imaging, quantitative imaging biomarkers, and image-guided interventions.

Wildermuth

Wildermuth, Erin
erin.wildermuth@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: American University, London School of Economics
Research interests: Aging

Graduate Student (GS) I

GS I

Moiz-Bilal

Moiz, Bilal
bilal.moiz@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Rochester
Research Interests: Drug delivery, biomaterials, physiological barriers, neurodegenerative disease.

Ning-Frankin

Ning, Franklin
franklin.ning@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Metastasis, drug resistance.

Tebben-Kieran

Tebben, Kieran
kieran.tebben@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: Ohio State University
Research Interests: Genomic epidemiology

Vik-Alexandra

Vlk, Alexandra
Alexandra.vlk@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Towson University
Research Interests: Immunology and infectious diseases, and developing novel mechanisms to prevent or treat infection.

Yasin-Saif

Yasin, Saif
saif.yasin@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Drew University
Research Interests: Protein dynamics, molecular structures and enzyme kinetics, chemical biology and biophysical methods to assist with biochemical conclusions.

GS II

GS II

Born-Louis

Born, Louis
louis.born@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Bioengineering (UMCP)
PI: Steven M. Jay, PhD
Alma mater:  University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Gene therapy, extracellular vesicles (EVs) in wound healing.

Kambouris

Kambouris, Adrienne
adrienne.kambouris@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Microbiology & immunology
PI: Patrik Bavoil, PhD|
Alma mater:  Georgia Regents University
Research Interests: Microbial pathogenesis and virulence factors, determining the relationship between cholesterol, inclusion size and configuration, and Chlamydial infections.

Mathias, Trevor

Mathias, Trevor
trevor.mathias@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Molecular Medicine
PI:  Stuart Martin, PhD
Alma mater:  University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Cancer Biology, Breast Cancer, Cancer Genomics.

Sikorski-Michael

Sikorski, Michael
michael.sikorski@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Myron Levine, MD, DTPH and David Rasko, PhD
Alma mater:  University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Comparative genomics, Microbiology, enteric infections, global public health, tropical diseases, molecular epidemiology, biomaterials, and point-of-care diagnostics/screening.

 

Uddin-Olivia

Uddin, Olivia
olivia.uddin@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Haverford College
PI: Asaf Keller, PhD
Graduate Program:: Neuroscience
Alma mater:  Haverford College
Research Interests: Studying the connections between pain and addiction.

Wolf-Gideon

Wolf, Gideon
PI: Nevil Singh, PhD
Graduate Program:  Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: Columbia University
Research Interests: Immunology and virology.

GS III

GS III

Casella-Alex

Casella, Alex
Email: alex.casella@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Seth Ament, PhD
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
Alma mater: University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: The regulatory networks underlying psychiatric disease using genomic and epi-genomic approaches.

Coburn-Katherine

Coburn, Katherine
Email: katherine.coburn@som.umaryland.edu
PI: David Weber, PhD
Graduate Program: Biochemistry
Alma mater: Grand Valley State University
Research Interests: Cancer biology.

Guardia, Talia
talia.guardia@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Katia Kontrogianni-Konstantopoulos, PhD
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
Alma mater: Barry University
Research Interests: Cancer research and the mechanisms involved in the various hallmarks of cancer, cancer immunology, metastatic processes, cancer stem cells, and therapeutic resistance.

Khan-Niaz

Khan, Niaz Zafar
Email: niaz.khan@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Alan Faden, MD
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma mater: University of Pittsburgh
Research Interests: Cell-to-cell communication through the transfer of extracellular vesicles (EVs) is a rapidly expanding area of research with broad relevance and impact, the role of EV release in inflammation after injury to the central nervous system and how this process may be modulated therapeutically.

Makarevich

Makarevich, Oleg
Email: oleg.makarevich@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Bogdan Stoica, PhD
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
Alma mater: University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Neurodegeneration, regenerative medicine.

Rao-Vishnu

Rao, Vishnu-Prak
Email: vishnu-prak.rao@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Megan Rizzo, PhD
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
Alma mater: University of Southern California (USC)
Research Interests: Islet oscillatory activity regulation and it’s interplay with glucokinase, the body's glucose sensing enzyme.

Tibbs-Ellis

Tibbs, Ellis
Email: ellis.tibbs@som.umaryland.edu
PI:  Xuefeng Cao, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: University of Missouri-Columbia
Research Interests: Developmental immunology.

Yu-Justine

Yu, Justine
Email: jyu@som.umaryland.edu
PI:  John Fisher, PhD (University of Maryland-College Park /UMCP)
Graduate Program: Bioengineering (UMCP)
Alma mater: Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: Tissue engineering and regenerative medicine.

GS IV and GS IV+

GS IV and GSIV+

arai-allison

Arai, Allison
Email: allison.arai@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Dudley Strickland, PhD
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: LRP1 and other LDLR receptor family members, vessel homeostasis, aneurysms, Alzheimer's disease, neuroscience.

aronson-sarah

Aronson-Fischell, Sarah
Email: sarah.a.fischell@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Elliot Stein, PhD (NIDA) & Asaf Keller, PhD (UMB)
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma mater: Dartmouth College
Research Interests: Psychiatry, Child Development, Cognitive Neuroscience, Drug Addiction, Neuroimaging, Clinical Research, Neuromodulation through the NIH MD/PhD Partnership Training program, a joint venture between NIDA and the University of Maryland’s MSTP.

brao-kristen

Brao, Kristen
Email: kristen.brao@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Robert Ernst, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: Yale University
Research Interests: Interactions of Staphylococcus aureus, Pseudomonas aeruginosa in the setting of cystic fibrosis, infectious diseases, microbial pathogenesis and biofilms.

cole-anthony

Cole, Anthony
Email: anthony.cole@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Scott Thompson, PhD
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma mater: University of Central Florida
Research Interests: Rapid actions of stress hormones in specific brain regions including the hippocampus to better understand the etiology of stress disorders and depression.

hesselgrave-natalie

Hesselgrave, Natalie
Email: natalie.hesselgrave@som.umaryland.edu
PI:  Scott Thompson, PhD
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma Mater: Cornell University and Columbia University
Research interests: depression and antidepressant treatment, electrophysiological techniques to elucidate the effects of fast acting antidepressants on the brain

lasola-jackine-joy

Lasola, Jackline Joy
Email: jacklinejoy.lasola@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Ryan Pearson, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: University of California-Berkeley and Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
Research Interests: Innate immune signaling pathways, inflammation, immunomodulation, immunotherapy.

lee-michael

Lee, Michael
Email: michael.lee@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Tonya Webb, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: Washington University at St. Louis
Research Interests: Bio-engineering and immunology, bio-material based approaches to immunological diseases. 

rosenberg-kenneth

Rosenberg, Kenneth
Email: kenneth.rosenberg@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Nevil Singh, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Modulation of T-cell activation by neurotransmitter receptors

zhou-albert

Zhou, Albert
Email: albert.zhou@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Mark Travassos, MD, MSc
Graduate Program: Epidemiology and Human Genetics
Alma Mater: University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests:  Semi-conserved domains of RIFINs and STEVORs associated with severe malaria vulnerability harbor peptides reflecting malaria exposure

MS III

MS III

doran-sarah

Doran, Sarah
Email: sarah.doran@som.umaryland.edu
PI: David Loane, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: University of Connecticut
Research Interest: Sex differences in the immune changes in the brain and in the lung after traumatic brain injury, therapeutics to prevent pneumonia following brain injury.

klontz-erik

Klontz, Erik
Email: erik.klontz@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Eric Sundberg, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: Carleton College
Research Interests: Mechanisms of enzymes involved in infectious diseases, and understanding how they can be manipulated to cure disease.

MS IV

MS IV

Molly Hritzo

Ahye, Molly Hritzo
Email: molly.hritzo@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Amit Golding, MD, PhD
Alma Mater: University of Scranton
Research Interests:  Validating imaging flow cytometry(IFC) techniques to examine the differential dynamic localization of transcription factor FOXO1 in primary immune cells, targets for autoimmune disease treatment.

brown-joshua

Brown, Joshua
Email: joshua.brown@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Michael Summers, PhD (UMBC)
Graduate Program: Biochemistry
Alma mater: University of West Florida
Research Interests: Neuroradiology and Interventional MRI, HIV structural siology using nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy.

divakaruni-saisachin

Divakaruni, Sai Sachin
Email: saisachin.divakaruni@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Thomas Blanpied, PhD
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma mater: University of Maryland Baltimore County
Research Interests: Cellular and molecular mechanisms in neurons and synapses that underlie information processing, storage, and recall, physiological bases of behavior.

roberts-nathan

Roberts, Nathan
Email: nathan.roberts@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Graeme Woodworth, MD
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
Alma mater: University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa
Research Interests: Nano-medicine, Neuro-Oncology, nanoparticle formulations to enhance the therapeutic effects of oxaliplatin for the treatment of glioblastoma.

Andrew Wescott

Andrew Wescott
Email: Andrew.wescott@som.umaryland.edu
PI:  W. Jonathan Lederer
Graduate Program:  Molecular Medicine
Alma Mater:  University of Rochester
Research Interests:  Quantitative cardiac cell physiology, Mitochondrial calcium signaling and bioenergetics

Image of New MSTP students

2019-2020 First Year Medical Scientist Training Program Students