Skip to main content

Our Students

Medical Student I

Medical School I

 

student picture

Yonit Addissie
yonit.addissie@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater:  Princeton University, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health
Research Interests:  Medical Genetics, Immunology

student picture

Rosita Asawa
Rosita.Asawa@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater:  Franciscan University of Steubeville
Research Interests: Infectious Disease, Therapeutic Development, and Drug Development

student picture

Rebecca Lorsung
rebecca.lorsung@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater:  University of Minnesota
Research Interests:  CNS Injury, Therapeutic Ultrasound, Diagnostic Imaging, Electrophysiology

student picture

Adarsha Malla
apmalla@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater:  Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests:  Neuroengineering, Interventional Radiology, Surgical Oncology, Focused Ultrasound

student picture

Anna Maximova
anna.maximova@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: College of William and Mary
Research Interests:  Neurobiology, Immunology, and Infectious Diseases

student picture

Shil Patel
shil.patel@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater:  University of Pittsburgh
Research Interests:  Cell-Microenvironment Interactions, Developmental and Regenerative Biology

student picture

John Quinlan
john.quinlan@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater:  Drexel University
Research Interests:  Cancer Biology, Biomedical Engineering, and Drug Development

student picture

Ryan Scalsky
ryan.scalsky@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater:  University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Pharmacogenomics of Cardiovascular, Chemotherapeutic and Antibiotic Medications.

Medical Student II

Medical Student II

Alizadeh

Alizadeh, Madeline
madeline.alizadeh@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Gut and Vaginal Microbiome, Vertical Transmission

Brandon

Brandon, Ken
ken.brandon@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Oakwood University, University of Alabama-Huntsville
Research Interests: Cancer metastasis

Eason

Eason, Matthew
matthew.eason@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Cancer biology and metastasis

Hofstaedter

Hofstaedter, Casey
casey.hofstaedter@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Lehigh University
Research Interests: Host-microbe interactions

 Iyer

Iyer, Aishwarya
Aishwarya.iyer@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Research interests: Biochemical and biophysical approaches to investigate structure-function relationships of vital biomolecules in disease pathology

Johnson-DaKuawn

Johnson, Da’Kuawn
da’kuawn.johnson@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater:  University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Research Interests: Immunology

Kruk

Kruk, Katie
katie.kruk@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: Grand Valley State University
Research interests: Neural networks, applying/optimizing imaging techniques to help detect abnormalities.

Moyer

Moyer, Mitchell
Mitchell.moyer@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Pittsburgh
Research interests: Neurodegeneration/Metabolism

Chimdiya Onwukwe

Onwukwe, Chimdiya
Chimdiya.onwukwe@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Research interests: Addiction, Neurobiology, Tissue Engineering

 Schumacher

Schumacher, Justin
justin.schumacher@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: University of Rochester
Research interests: Biomedical engineering and medical imaging, particularly with medical devices, spectral imaging, quantitative imaging biomarkers, and image-guided interventions

Wildermuth

Wildermuth, Erin
erin.wildermuth@som.umaryland.edu
Alma mater: American University, London School of Economics
Research interests: Molecular Aging

Graduate Student I

Graduate Student I

Moiz-Bilal

Moiz, Bilal
bilal.moiz@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Bioengineering (UMCP)
PI: Alisa Morss Clyne
Alma mater: University of Rochester
Research Interests: Drug delivery, biomaterials, physiological barriers, neurodegenerative disease.

Ning-Frankin

Ning, Franklin
franklin.ning@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate program:  Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: Christina Annunziata, MD, PhD (NIH)
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Drug resistance, metastasis, immunotherapy

Tebben-Kieran

Tebben, Kieran
kieran.tebben@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate program:  Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: David Serre, Dr. rer. nat.
Alma Mater: The Ohio State University
Research Interests: Genomics, malaria, natural selection and evolution, parasitology

Vik-Alexandra

Vlk, Alexandra
Alexandra.vlk@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: Stefanie Vogel, PhD
Alma mater: Towson University
Research Interests: Immunology and infectious diseases

Yasin-Saif

Yasin, Saif
saif.yasin@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Biochemistry
PI: Michael Summers, PhD (UMBC)
Alma mater: Drew University
Research Interests: Molecular Structures and Enzyme Kinetics,

Graduate Student II

Graduate Student II 

Born-Louis

Born, Louis
louis.born@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Bioengineering (UMCP)
PI: Steven M. Jay, PhD (UMCP)
Alma mater:  University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Wound Healing, Angiogenesis, Extracellular Vesicles

Kambouris

Kambouris, Adrienne
adrienne.kambouris@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Patrik Bavoil, PhD
Alma mater:  Georgia Regents University
Research Interests: Microbial pathogenesis 

Mathias, Trevor

Mathias, Trevor
trevor.mathias@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Molecular Medicine
PI:  Stuart Martin, PhD
Alma mater:  University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Cancer Biology, Breast Cancer, Cancer Genomics, Metastsis

Sikorski-Michael

Sikorski, Michael
michael.sikorski@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: Myron Levine, MD, DTPH and David Rasko, PhD
Alma mater:  University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Comparative genomics, Microbiology, enteric infections, global public health

Uddin-Olivia

Uddin, Olivia
olivia.uddin@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Asaf Keller, PhD
Alma mater:  Haverford College
Research Interests: Pain, Aging, Addiction

Wolf-Gideon

Wolf, Gideon
gideon.wolf@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Nevil Singh, PhD
Alma mater: Columbia University
Research Interests: Immunology and T cell biology

Graduate Student III

Graduate Student III

Casella-Alex

Casella, Alex
alex.casella@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Seth Ament, PhD
Alma mater: University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: Leveraging powerful new computational tools to describe neuropsychiatric disease

Coburn-Katherine

Coburn, Katherine
katherine.coburn@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Biochemistry
PI: David Weber, PhD
Alma mater: Grand Valley State University
Research Interests: Calcium signaling skeletal muscle structuralbiology cryoEM NMR dihydropyridine receptor

Guardia, Talia
talia.guardia@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Aikaterini Kontrogianni-Konstantopoulos, PhD
Alma mater: Barry University
Research Interests:  Mechanisms of tumor development and metastasis

Khan-Niaz

Khan, Niaz Zafar
niaz.khan@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Alan Faden, MD
Alma mater: University of Pittsburgh
Research Interests: Exosomes, Extracellular Vesicles, Neuroinflammation, Traumatic CNS Injury

Makarevich

Makarevich, Oleg
oleg.makarevich@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Bogdan Stoica, PhD
Alma mater: University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Transcriptional regulation after injury

Rao-Vishnu

Rao, Vishnu-Prak
vishnu-prak.rao@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Megan Rizzo, PhD
Alma mater: University of Southern California (USC)
Research Interests: Beta cell biology, cell to cell communication

Tibbs-Ellis

Tibbs, Ellis
ellis.tibbs@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI:  Xuefeng Cao, PhD
Alma mater: University of Missouri-Columbia
Research Interests: Studying suppressive functions of MDSCs

Yu-Justine

Yu, Justine
jyu@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Bioengineering (UMCP)
PI:  John Fisher, PhD (UMCP)
Alma mater: Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: Tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, wound healing.

Graduate Student IV and IV+

Graduate Students IV and IV+

arai-allison

Arai, Allison
allison.arai@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Dudley Strickland, PhD
Awarded an F30 by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute of the NIH
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: LRP1 and other LDLR receptor family members, vessel homeostasis, aneurysms, Alzheimer's disease, neuroscience.

aronson-sarah

Aronson-Fischell, Sarah
sarah.a.fischell@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Elliot Stein, PhD (NIDA) & Asaf Keller, PhD 
Awarded an F30 by the National Institute on Drug Abuse of the NIH
Alma mater: Dartmouth College
Research Interests: Psychiatry; Functional Brain Imaging; Cognitive Psychology; Developmental Psychology; Resilience; Addiction; Non-invasive Brain Stimulation

brao-kristen

Brao, Kristen
kristen.brao@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Robert Ernst, PhD
Alma mater: Yale University
Research Interests: Biofilms; Polymicrobial Infections; Microbial Pathogenesis

cole-anthony

Cole, Anthony
anthony.cole@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Scott Thompson, PhD
Alma mater: University of Central Florida
Research Interests: Depression, Neurophysiology, Optogenetics, Behavior, Neurosteroids

hesselgrave-natalie

Hesselgrave, Natalie
natalie.hesselgrave@som.umaryland.edu
PI:  Scott Thompson, PhD
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma Mater: Cornell University and Columbia University
Research interests: depression and antidepressant treatment, electrophysiological techniques to elucidate the effects of fast acting antidepressants on the brain

lasola-jackine-joy

Lasola, Jackline Joy
jacklinejoy.lasola@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Ryan Pearson, PhD
Alma mater: University of California-Berkeley and Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
Research Interests: innate immune signaling pathways, inflammation, immunomodulation, immunotherapies, immune engineering, biomaterials

lee-michael

Lee, Michael
michael.lee@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Tonya Webb, PhD
Alma mater: Washington University at St. Louis
Research Interests: Bio-engineering and immunology, bio-material based approaches to immunological diseases. 

rosenberg-kenneth

Rosenberg, Kenneth
kenneth.rosenberg@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Nevil Singh, PhD
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Regulation of the adaptive immune response

zhou-albert

Zhou, Albert
albert.zhou@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Epidemiology and Human Genetics
PI: Mark Travassos, MD, MSc
F30 Recipient from National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute of the NIH
Alma Mater: University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Genomics, Personalized Medicine

Medical Student III

Medical Student III

doran-sarah

Doran, Sarah
Email: sarah.doran@som.umaryland.edu
PI: David Loane, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: University of Connecticut
Research Interest: Neuroimmunology

klontz-erik

Klontz, Erik
Email: erik.klontz@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Eric Sundberg, PhD
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma mater: Carleton College
Research Interests: Molecular Basis of Infectious Diseases

Medical Student IV

Medical Student IV

Molly Hritzo

Ahye, Molly Hritzo
Email: molly.hritzo@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Amit Golding, MD, PhD
Alma Mater: University of Scranton
Research Interests:  Imaging Flow Cytometry of Primary Human Immune Cells, Identifiying and Understanding Targets for Autoimmune Disease Treatment

brown-joshua

Brown, Joshua
Email: joshua.brown@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Michael Summers, PhD (UMBC)
Graduate Program: Biochemistry
Alma mater: University of West Florida
Research Interests: Developing Novel Radiation-free Imaging and Probing Techiniques Using Magnetic Resonance

divakaruni-saisachin

Divakaruni, Sai Sachin
Email: saisachin.divakaruni@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Thomas Blanpied, PhD
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Awarded an F30 by National Institute of Mental Health of the NIH
Alma mater: University of Maryland Baltimore County
Research Interests: Biological Basis of Brain Function and Dysfunction, Microscopy, and Cellular Physiology

roberts-nathan

Roberts, Nathan
Email: nathan.roberts@som.umaryland.edu
PI: Graeme Woodworth, MD, BS
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
Alma mater: University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa
Research Interests: Neuro-Oncology

Andrew Wescott

Andrew Wescott
Email: Andrew.wescott@som.umaryland.edu
PI:  W. Jonathan Lederer
Graduate Program:  Molecular Medicine
Alma Mater:  University of Rochester
Research Interests:  Cardiac Calcium Signaling, Bioenergetics, Arrhythmia, Heart Failure