Skip to main content

Our Students

Medical Student I

Medical School I

Issac Chaudry

Issac Chaudry
ichaudry@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Structural biology

Kelly Griffiths

Kelly Griffiths, MS
kgriffiths@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: Virginia Tech, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
Research Interests: Cancer immunotherapy

Mary Hackbarth

Mary Hackbarth, MS
mary.hackbarth@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Research Interests: Undiagnosed diseases program - lysosomal storage diseases

John Locke

John Locke
jelocke@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Chronic pain

Neema Moin Afshar

Neema Moin Afshar
neema.moinafshar@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Research Interests: Dopamine signaling; learning and decision-making process

Alexandra Seas

Alexandra Seas
alexandra.seas@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Drug delivery, bioengineering

Medical Student II

Medical Student II

Student picture

Nisita Dutta, MS
nisita.dutta@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: Drug Delivery, Cancer, Bioengineering

Student picture

Darin Gilchrist
darin.gilchrist@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Cancer Biology and Metastasis

Student picture

Thuan Nguyen, PhD
thuan.nguyen@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Virginia, George Washington University, Georgetown University
Research Interest: Innate immunity, Host-Pathogen interaction, Cancer Biology

Student picture

Oluwatomiwa Oladunni
Oluwatomiwa.oladunni@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Neuroscience

Student picture

Abagail Postle, MS
abagail.postle@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: Miami University (of Ohio), Case Western Reserve University
Research Interests: Behavioral changes of aging, geriatric neurology, Neurodegenerative diseases

Student picture

Hassan Saadi, MS
hsaadi@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Maryland, College Park, Georgetown University
Research Interests: Neuropsychiatry

Student picture

Talia Solomon
talia.solomon@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: Carnegie Mellon University
Research Interests: Bioengineering, Drug Delivery, Immune Engineering

Student picture

Jessica Yau
jessica.yau@som.umaryland.edu
Alma Mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Microbiome, Immuno-engineering, Cancer

Graduate Student I

Graduate Student I

student picture

Yonit Addissie
yonit.addissie@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma Mater: Princeton University, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health
Research Interests: Medical Genetics, Immunology

student picture

Rosita Asawa
Rosita.Asawa@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma Mater: Franciscan University of Steubenville
Research Interests: Infectious Disease, Therapeutic Development, and Drug Development

Brandon

Ken Brandon
ken.brandon@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Bioengineering
Alma mater: Oakwood University, University of Alabama-Huntsville
Research Interests: Cancer metastasis

student picture

Rebecca Lorsung
rebecca.lorsung@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma Mater: University of Minnesota
Research Interests:  CNS Injury, Therapeutic Ultrasound, Diagnostic Imaging, Electrophysiology

student picture

Adarsha Malla
apmalla@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
Alma Mater: Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests:  Neuroengineering, Interventional Radiology, Surgical Oncology, Focused Ultrasound

student picture

Anna Maximova
anna.maximova@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma Mater: College of William and Mary
Research Interests:  Neurobiology, Immunology, and Infectious Diseases

student picture

Shil Patel
shil.patel@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
Alma Mater: University of Pittsburgh
Research Interests: Cell-Microenvironment Interactions, Developmental and Regenerative Biology

student picture

John Quinlan
john.quinlan@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Bioengineering
Alma Mater: Drexel University
Research Interests: Cancer Biology, Biomedical Engineering, and Drug Development

student picture

Ryan Scalsky
ryan.scalsky@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Epidemiology & Human Genetics
Alma Mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Pharmacogenomics of Cardiovascular, Chemotherapeutic and Antibiotic Medications

Graduate Student II

Graduate Student II 

Alizadeh

Madeline Alizadeh
madeline.alizadeh@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Jacques Ravel, PhD
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Gut and Vaginal Microbiome, Vertical Transmission

Eason

Matthew Eason
matthew.eason@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Aikaterini Kontrogianni-Konstantopoulos, PhD
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Cancer biology and metastasis

Hofstaedter

Casey Hofstaedter
casey.hofstaedter@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: Robert Ernst, PhD
Alma mater: Lehigh University
Research Interests: Host-microbe interactions

 Iyer

Aishwarya Iyer
Aishwarya.iyer@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Biochemistry
PI: Aikaterini Kontrogianni-Konstantopoulos, PhD
Alma mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Research interests: Biochemical and biophysical approaches to investigate structure-function relationships of vital biomolecules in disease pathology

Kruk

Katie Kruk
katie.kruk@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Jessica Mong, PhD
Alma mater: Grand Valley State University
Research interests: Neural networks, applying/optimizing imaging techniques to help detect abnormalities.

Moyer

Mitchell Moyer
Mitchell.moyer@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: J. Marc Simard, MD, PhD
Alma mater: University of Pittsburgh
Research interests: Neurodegeneration/Metabolism

Chimdiya Onwukwe

Chimdiya Onwukwe
Chimdiya.onwukwe@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Asaf Keller, PhD
Alma mater: University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Research interests: Addiction, Neurobiology, Tissue Engineering

 Schumacher

Justin Schumacher
justin.schumacher@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Bioengineering (UMCP)
PI: Giuliano Scarcelli, PhD (UMCP)
Alma mater: University of Rochester
Research interests: Biomedical engineering and medical imaging, particularly with medical devices, spectral imaging, quantitative imaging biomarkers, and image-guided interventions

Tebben-Kieran

Kieran Tebben, MSc
kieran.tebben@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate program:  Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: David Serre, Dr. rer. nat.
Alma Mater: The Ohio State University, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Research Interests: Genomics, malaria, natural selection and evolution, parasitology

Wildermuth

Erin Wildermuth, MA
erin.wildermuth@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Seth Ament, PhD
Alma mater: American University, London School of Economics
Research interests: Molecular Aging

Graduate Student III

Graduate Student III

Student picture

Alexa Ciesinski Blanchard
alexa.ciesinski@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Margaret McCarthy, PhD
Alma mater: Wake Forest University
Research Interests: Neuroimmunology, Neurodevelopment, Sex differences

Moiz-Bilal

Bilal Moiz
bilal.moiz@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Bioengineering (UMCP)
PI: Alisa Morss Clyne
Alma mater: University of Rochester
Research Interests: Drug delivery, biomaterials, physiological barriers, neurodegenerative disease.

Ning-Frankin

Franklin Ning
franklin.ning@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate program:  Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: Christina Annunziata, MD, PhD (NIH)
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Drug resistance, metastasis, immunotherapy

Vik-Alexandra

Alexandra Vlk
Alexandra.vlk@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: Stefanie Vogel, PhD
Alma mater: Towson University
Research Interests: Immunology and infectious diseases

Yasin-Saif

Saif Yasin
saif.yasin@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Biochemistry
PI: Michael Summers, PhD (UMBC)
Alma mater: Drew University
Research Interests: Molecular Structures and Enzyme Kinetics,

Graduate Student IV and IV+

Graduate Students IV and IV+

cole-anthony

Anthony Cole
anthony.cole@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Scott Thompson, PhD
Alma mater: University of Central Florida
Research Interests: Depression, Neurophysiology, Optogenetics, Behavior, Neurosteroids

Talia Guardia
talia.guardia@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Aikaterini Kontrogianni-Konstantopoulos, PhD
Alma mater: Barry University
Research Interests:  Mechanisms of tumor development and metastasis

Kambouris

Adrienne Kambouris
adrienne.kambouris@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Alan Cross, MD
Alma mater: Augusta University
Research Interests: Microbial pathogenesis 

Khan-Niaz

Niaz Zafar Khan
niaz.khan@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Alan Faden, MD
Alma mater: University of Pittsburgh
Research Interests: Exosomes, Extracellular Vesicles, Neuroinflammation, Traumatic CNS Injury

lasola-jackine-joy

Jackline Joy, MS
jacklinejoy.lasola@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Ryan Pearson, PhD
Alma mater: University of California-Berkeley and Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
Research Interests: innate immune signaling pathways, inflammation, immunomodulation, immunotherapies, immune engineering, biomaterials

Mathias, Trevor

Trevor Mathias, MS
trevor.mathias@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Stuart Martin, PhD
Alma mater:  University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Cancer Biology, Breast Cancer, Cancer Genomics, Metastasis

Sikorski-Michael

Michael Sikorski
michael.sikorski@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
PI: Myron Levine, MD, DTPH and David Rasko, PhD
Alma mater:  University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Comparative genomics, Microbiology, enteric infections, global public health

Tibbs-Ellis

Ellis Tibbs
ellis.tibbs@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Xuefeng Cao, PhD
Alma mater: University of Missouri-Columbia
Research Interests: Studying suppressive functions of MDSCs

Wolf-Gideon

Gideon Wolf
gideon.wolf@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Nevil Singh, PhD
Alma mater: Columbia University
Research Interests: Immunology and T cell biology

Yu-Justine

Justine Yu
jyu@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Bioengineering (UMCP)
PI:  John Fisher, PhD (UMCP)
Alma mater: Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: Tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, wound healing.

Medical Student III

Medical Student III

Born-Louis

Louis Born, PhD
louis.born@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program:  Bioengineering (UMCP)
PI: Steven M. Jay, PhD (UMCP)
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Wound Healing, Angiogenesis, Extracellular Vesicles

Casella-Alex

Alex Casella, PhD
alex.casella@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Seth Ament, PhD
Alma mater: University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: Leveraging powerful new computational tools to describe neuropsychiatric disease

Coburn-Katherine

Katherine Coburn, PhD
katherine.coburn@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Biochemistry
PI: David Weber, PhD
Alma mater: Grand Valley State University
Research Interests: Calcium signaling, skeletal muscle structural biology, cryoEM NMR dihydropyridine receptor

Makarevich

Oleg Makarevich, PhD
oleg.makarevich@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Bogdan Stoica, PhD
Alma mater: University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Transcriptional regulation after injury

Rao-Vishnu

Vishnu-Prak Rao, PhD
vishnu-prak.rao@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Medicine
PI: Megan Rizzo, PhD
Alma mater: University of Southern California (USC)
Research Interests: Beta cell biology, cell to cell communication

Uddin-Olivia

Olivia Uddin, PhD
olivia.uddin@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Asaf Keller, PhD
Alma mater:  Haverford College
Research Interests: Pain, Aging, Addiction

Medical Student IV

Medical Student IV

arai-allison

Allison Arai, PhD
allison.arai@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Dudley Strickland, PhD
Awarded an F30 by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute of the NIH
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: LRP1 and other LDLR receptor family members, vessel homeostasis, aneurysms, Alzheimer's disease, neuroscience.

aronson-sarah

Sarah Aronson-Fischell, PhD
sarah.a.fischell@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
PI: Elliot Stein, PhD (NIDA)Asaf Keller, PhD
Awarded an F30 by the National Institute on Drug Abuse of the NIH
Alma mater: Dartmouth College
Research Interests: Psychiatry; Functional Brain Imaging; Cognitive Psychology; Developmental Psychology; Resilience; Addiction; Non-invasive Brain Stimulation

brao-kristen

Kristen Brao, PhD 
kristen.brao@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Robert Ernst, PhD
Alma mater: Yale University
Research Interests: Biofilms; Polymicrobial Infections; Microbial Pathogenesis

hesselgrave-natalie

Natalie Hesselgrave, PhD, MA
n
atalie.hesselgrave@som.umaryland.edu
PI:  Scott Thompson, PhD
Graduate Program: Neuroscience
Alma Mater: Cornell University and Columbia University
Research interests: depression and antidepressant treatment, electrophysiological techniques to elucidate the effects of fast acting antidepressants on the brain

lee-michael

Michael Lee, PhD
michael.lee@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Tonya Webb, PhD
Alma mater: Washington University at St. Louis
Research Interests: Bio-engineering and immunology, bio-material based approaches to immunological diseases. 

rosenberg-kenneth

Kenneth Rosenberg, PhD
kenneth.rosenberg@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
PI: Nevil Singh, PhD
Alma mater: University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Regulation of the adaptive immune response

zhou-albert

Albert Zhou, PhD
albert.zhou@som.umaryland.edu
Graduate Program: Epidemiology and Human Genetics
PI: Mark Travassos, MD, MSc
F30 Recipient from National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute of the NIH
Alma Mater: University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Research Interests: Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Genomics, Personalized Medicine